Daily Prompt: Immortalised in Stone

Here is today’s daily prompt:

“Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?”

This year has been about my attempts to improve myself. Although I recently wrote a post of things I am grateful for from 2012, I find it hard to look back now and to see how I’ve actually made any progress… Maybe it’s just my current state of mind (I’m tiring of my own company and not due to return to work until Wednesday).

It started off with love, touched on friendship, progressed in to self-help and counselling, then finished off with writing.

So, my mind starts off with an image of a heart, fractured (but not broken) in two places. It stands on two legs that are slowly weakening. One arm carries a pen as the other reaches up towards the sky. Beneath that, the stone or marble base contains a plaque showing ’2012′.

I don’t know what that means! If I can find the inertia to do a drawing this evening then, I will. I can’t currently find an image like this on Google.

(For some bizarre reason, Zemanta is suggesting a series of Man United-related tags to go with this post…?!?! Ah, I think it’s the mention of the statue – Cantona, Schmeichel, Ferguson.)

 

2 comments on “Daily Prompt: Immortalised in Stone

  1. [...] Daily Prompt: Immortalised in Stone [...]

  2. [...] Daily Prompt: Immortalised in Stone « Brandon Bored [...]

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

