A Regular Dream

I was drying my hair a little while ago after taking a shower, when the thought came back to me about a recurring dream I often have. It’s not something I often remember as soon as I wake up but, the memory comes to me some time after.

In these dreams, I find myself in a situation (usually at work, as I remember) where I’m still dressed in my dressing gown and slippers (I have some clothes on underneath, don’t worry!). At some point during the dream (they don’t seem to be very long), I come to the embarrassing realisation that everyone around me has already gotten themselves dressed. Where as, I’m still in my ‘morning’ look, struggling with the physical nature of the job because of what I’m wearing.

What on Earth could it mean?

When I was at school (which I didn’t always enjoy), I used to experience similar dreams quite frequently. On other days, I might have forgotten my shoes. Worst of all is when I have nothing below the waist and I’m constantly trying and struggling to stretch my shirt.

But, there isn’t a situation in any of these dreams where someone points and laughs. Nobody seems to notice.

Maybe I should bring this up in counselling as well? It could be part of the social anxiety deep within my subconscious, I guess.

Does anyone know much about dream interpretation?

Thank you. 🙂

9 comments on “A Regular Dream

  1. Hi, dreams are interesting things aren’t they. I have had similar to that in the past, I don’t know what they mean though.

  2. meandanxiety says:

    I don’t know anything about dream interpretation, but maybe they must be something playing on our minds? who knows..

  3. Dezzie says:

    Sorry, just getting the opportunity to post as I said I would. Dreams like these often mean the dreamer subconsciously feel inadequate in comparison to others. Even though the dreamer doesn’t see himself as an equal to others, those around him don’t see the dreamer as inadequate. Basically meaning the fear of being left behind or unequal is simply in the mind. It is not real. Usually when people have these sort of dreams, it’s a wake up call, saying there truly isn’t a need to be so hard on oneself and you should accept yourself. Let go of the comparisons and feeling inadequate because no one else actually see you that way.

    • Thank you for your interpretation, Dezzie.

      It makes a lot of sense and is actually something that came up in counselling today. We’re now working on building my self-esteem and self-belief. I am very hard one myself some times. I wish I could remember exactly when I had these dreams (I’ll try and make a note of any future ones). 🙂

  4. My interpretation is you feel ill prepared for whatever role you have to fill and believe others are superior to you. Sort of like what Dezzie says but I interpret it as you feeling unprepared to deal with the situation you’re facing.

    Generally dreams where we are naked or partially naked signify we are hiding a part of ourselves and fear “exposure”, hence you not having any pants on.

    I love dream interpretation! I’m no expert or anything but am rather fond of it nonetheless 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

