Winter’s Coming

Here in the UK, we’re already almost four-days in to the autumn season. That means that the days are already getting shorter and, with winter on the way, the temperature should soon be on the decline as well. It’s depressing to think about, I know. There’s even a disorder for people who’s moods are affected by this time of the year, known commonly as SAD.

Like a lot of people, I find the winter months to be very difficult at times. You wake up in the dark, spend all the daylight hours at work and come home to total darkness at the end of each day. It’s hard to find a life outside of this twilight and, I find it even more difficult to maintain my enthusiasm and motivate myself to do anything in the evenings.

It is something that’s already concerning. But, with the positive steps forward that I’ve already made recently in improving myself and building on my self-esteem, I’ve decided to try and plan ahead now. Sometimes, planning and too much thought can lead to greater anxiety later but, this is one situation where I do not feel that being ‘spontaneous’ in my actions would be the best option.

Please feel free to chip in with your own thoughts and suggestions along the way. All comments are welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

As you may know from reading a recent post here, I’m making more of an effort to get out and see more of the local attractions. This involves being outdoors, exploring, taking photographs and, basically, enjoying nature. Obviously, with winter comes the sharp, freezing temperatures and, sometimes, continuous days of ice and rain. My initial reaction was that time of year will bring an end to my outdoor expeditions… Should it really? I mean, as long as the ground isn’t deeply saturated or frozen then, it should be safe enough to go hiking or trekking through a forest! It’s so easy to think of and focus on the negatives… Even on a cold, windy day, all I would need is to wrap myself up warm; keeping physically active should do all the rest. What’s really nice then is to find somewhere warm (maybe a small pub or cafรฉ?) to enjoy a warm drink afterwards. I would also appreciate having someone to share hugs with in these times (wouldn’t we all) but, I feel I really need to focus on doing some things for myself, first and foremost.

That could cover some part of my weekends and also, any time I happen to have off of work. But, I’m still concerned by thoughts of how I’m going to fill my spare evenings, in the cold darkness of winter.

I usually do my food shopping in an evening as it is quieter than at weekends so, that’s one day accounted! ๐Ÿ˜€ An old friend from school is moving back to the area soon so, that could mean regularly visits to the local pub to catch up (even though I’m strong in my dislike of alcohol). It might help to conquer some of my social anxiety fears, instead of walking blindly in to a busy situation or gathering on my own.

I am looking in to an evening writing course of some sort. Only for a set number of weeks but, again, it will keep me busy for a few hours in one evening each week. I’ll be able to work on my writing skills and hopefully, meet other like-minded people.

Writing this, I’m already kind of looking forward to the winter season – and, I haven’t even mentioned Christmas yet!! ๐Ÿ˜€

I’m kind of stumped for ideas after that though and would appreciate any other suggestions that people might have. I remember that ‘May’ is in to ice skating and, although it would mean a jaunt in to the city centre, that might also be worth exploring. From briefly looking around online, I’ve seen that there are art groups around locally and, I’d really like to find something (if I haven’t already found ‘someone’) who can help get me back in to drawing.

At the very least, I hope that this post has given you some food for thought. I’m making a stand now to say that winter doesn’t have to be as dark and gloomy as the absence of sunshine may suggest. We all have the potential to enjoy these difficult times. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for reading.

9 comments on “Winter’s Coming

  1. i much prefer winter to summer simply because of the heat issue. Hate Christmas time though especially as i’m poverty stricken around that time. From my point of view winter = football season which = lots of matches on the tv lol that works for me completely

  2. kizzylee says:

    i love winter! i love cold rainy windy days the more rain the better i love being inside watching old black and white movies on the tv only thing is i hate snow, damn stuff belongs on christmas cards not in my garden, so i love it soon as the days get shorter and the heating has to be turned on thats me happy, mind i couldnt live anywhere too cold i am perfectly suited to where i live rain/wind=north england yup thats me ๐Ÿ™‚ i am looking forward this winter to hearing the rain outside while i write horror stories inside ๐Ÿ™‚ now that sounds delicious to me ๐Ÿ™‚ have a great evening ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Bourbon says:

    No! Autumn must go away! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t feel I’ve had enough summer yet…. things get bad for me in the winter with christmas being the apex of that all. We will stick through it altogether xx

    • September’s supposed to be a good month – less of the rain and more sunshine. Plus, it probably won’t be uncomfortably scorching hot either. Comfortable. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Christmas in particular can be a very difficult time for many but, there are many people here who will stand by and support you. x

  4. I, personally, look forward to Autumn because it means less humidity and heat to contend with, which equals better breathing for my asthmatic lungs!lol Also, I really like the changing of the leaves to reds, yellows and orange-so pretty:) The temps are usually in my preferred comfort zone too, not too hot or cold (I’m Goldie Locks) ;D

    In the autumn it’s nice to go for walks as well and enjoy the peace of not having a tonne of kids around, not that there’s all that many with so many indoors but still…Then, like you, getting a warm drink (coffee for me) makes for a nice outing. I’m usually content to be solitary but appreciate a friend for company too.

    The winter is my worst season because I always end up with SAD and feel like winter lasts FOREVER. I do live in Canada though so it sort of does in some parts (not where I’m at though thankfully). You have the right idea about getting outside and keeping involved with the outside world. I’m prone to hibernating all winter if I haven’t anywhere to go. Being unemployed, I spent most of last winter indoors at home. Perhaps I can make more of an effort this year to go out. Maybe I’ll even have a job by then! (fingers crossed).

    Nice reading someone else’s experience with the declining of daylight ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. As your sun disappears, ours is finally coming back. Thankfully. The last week or so has started to warm up, which I think over here in Australia makes a lot of people feel better and happier. We had a fairly mild winter, so we lived. lol. The writing course sounds interesting and so do the art classes. A good place to meet people with similar interests. We started doing a fencing course and are actually enjoying it. Thought we would give something different a try. Enjoy your own company. Spending time on your own is so peaceful. Kat ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Linda says:

    I’ve always struggled with SAD, not officially diagnosed though. I find waking up in the dark and going home in the dark very difficult. or at least that’s how it’s been for the last few years. it makes me want to hibernate. I think it’s slightly better this year, I’m now on anti-depressants, and I think that is keeping those feelings at bay, a bit.

    I wrote about this in writing therapy, perhaps it warrants a post of its own. (I think you’ve just inspired me to draft a new post while I’m still at the cafe. I think if we come up with enough things to do, and things to look forward to that are specific to winter, it will be a bit easier. mulled cider… wrapping up warm in my down coat.. so cosy. Guy Fawkes, pumpkins, all those things.

    you have a good approach, planning things to do in the evening. I’m going on a counselling course in January, and that will occupy an evening a week. then there’s writing therapy. That’s probably my quota filled for evening activity, too tired otherwise!!!

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

