Poem: ‘Amazing Blaise’

‘Amazing Blaise’

It had been so long
Eighteen-years and counting
But the journey to reach you
Felt like climbing a mountain

I was afraid.
So long, I had waited
But, setting off from the car park
My breath was already baited!

It seemed unfamiliar, until the museum
Inside, it all came back to me
The history, paintings, Mr.Hughes and the caning!
One look outside, the estate was waiting!

I found my own trail and began to explore
My camera was ready and I kept finding more!

But the castle was hidden, along with both caves
I used my own compass but, wasn’t sure of the way

Then, when I found you, my dream was achieved
That sense of achievement and all I’d believed

Now, I set off with new sites to explore
But, at Blaise Castle, there will always be MORE!

One day, I’ll return, just to see you inside
I hope to bring with me a friend and our pride

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

