A Short Story

This post is inspired not only by today’s significant cause (World Suicide Prevention Day) but also, buy a recent post from The Depressed Moose. Using a photo I took recently at the Blaise Castle Estate in Bristol (England), I’ve decided to write a short story, as an example of the kind of creativity we are all capable of showing, even in times of darkness and with thoughts of suffering.

I can’t promise that this will or not strongly address any of the issues surrounding depression and suicidal thoughts but, here I go…

‘Living Memory’

For the final years of his life, this timber-clad woodland home represented a safe haven and sanctuary for the man who built it.  Society could be cruel and their words alone drove this once humble carpenter to a life of isolation.

Building his home was an achievement in itself. He was both the architect and its creator.

To this day, locals work hard to ensure that the house remains standing and is secure. Its only occupant now is the spirit of an honest, hard-working man.

His life ended with a leap from a nearby cliff but, his legacy lives on.

Hopefully, you can read several things from this short-story (I know that I can!). Writing within constrictions like this doesn’t come naturally to me. I have a lot to say and I don’t know how to be concise. I think the practice should be good though and, I am pleased to say that I managed to finish this at no more than one-hundred words (excluding the title). 😉

Thoughts, suggestions, comment and advice are always welcome. We never stop learning!

Thank you for reading and stay strong!! 🙂

6 comments on “A Short Story

  1. hastywords says:

    I love this. It really does say so much more than what is written…and the picture adds even more!

  2. meandanxiety says:

    Great story Brandon 🙂 x

  3. I enjoyed it very much. You did a great job and got me to feel empathy for the man who used to live in the house before committing suicide. Was there really anyone that used to live there? You should do more of these short stories as you seem to have a knack for it! 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂

      I have no idea of its true function (past or present) but I should do my research and report back in a separate post! 😉

      I’m really pleased with how well it turned out, for such a small number of words. I usually write spontaneously and find it hard to edit what’s already written but, I’m very pleased with this.

      I’ll definitely try and do more. Another benefit of getting out at the weekends and takings photographs is that I present myself with plenty of short story inspiration! 😉 I’m starting a ‘short fiction’ evening course next week and looking forward to that as well.

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

