World Suicide Prevention Day 2012

Today is World Suicide Prevention Day 2012 and, for others in the UK, I am writing this on Sunday night, with the post scheduled to appear on my blog just before 7am. This is the time that my new working week starts and, to be honest, it’s never something I look forward to. But, this cause and creating its awareness is important to me, as I know and care about someone who sufferers with such devastating thoughts from time to time.

My first contribution to this international day of communion, is to be shared through this poem. I hope I haven’t missed the point or gone off tangent with it. I have experienced suicidal thoughts several times in my life and they still creep up every now and again. I’ve never been entirely serious about following any of them through so, this poem isn’t entirely relevant to that. For sufferers of any mental health issue, we often regard our homes as our one ‘safe place‘; our very own sanctuary from a world that can be full of hurt and pain. In my experience though, home life isn’t always a happy, comfortable place when it’s a space shared with others.

This evening, after work, I aim to write and share a very short story with you. For now, please read the poem I wrote last week:

‘Living with Fear’

When I arrive, you’re sometimes there
Sitting, controlling, in your chair
This is when I need my space
But, home life can be very hard to face

I feel as though I can’t relax
As though there’s someone, on my back
This is when I feel suppressed
Thoughts of eating? I can barely get dressed!

Time has passed but little has changed
If only, there was to be a way
Where I could live in peace, alone
Because, right now, this is not my safe zone.

Thank you for reading all of this and for doing your part to support this cause and to increase awareness. If you know someone who suffers from suicidal thoughts and tendencies, take a moment to remind them that they’re not alone; tell them how much you care; how much they mean to you as a friend, relative or loved one, as I will do today.

One comment on “World Suicide Prevention Day 2012

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

