On Keeping Up

We all know that writing your own blog and keeping it updated regularly can be difficult enough, especially in times where the thoughts may not be coming; no matter how you want those words to appear on the screen, it just doesn’t happen. Doing the thirty-days of truth challenge certainly helps to create new content regularly but, I find it as difficult to keep up with all the other blogs I follow.

I think I have around sixty WordPress followers of this site (the rest are made up of followers by e-mail and Twitter) and I follow the majority of them. I prefer to receive e-mail notifications in my inbox of new posts – if I’m away from the site for a day or two then, there’s the risk that I could miss something by only using the Reader, here on WordPress. When I started, this wasn’t too bad. But, as the number of blogs I follow has increased, the unread messages in my inbox have been piling up.

If you go to your Reader (hover over the ‘W’ icon in the top left and select ‘Reader’, then ‘Edit List’, below the header), you’ll see that you can alter the frequency of how often these messages are received. Mine all started off as Instant. Then, as the numbers grew, I reassigned the more regular bloggers to ‘Daily’ updates. Now though, I’ve put everyone on to ‘Weekly’ e-mail updates.

Scroll down below the Topics on your left and you’ll see ‘Email Delivery Settings’. This is where you can alter the default settings for any new blog you follow, so you don’t have to keep returning to this page each time you find a new blog you like.

This feels more comfortable as I received a stack of e-mails once a week and, I’ll casually work my way through them; starting with the oldest posts and ending with the newest. I might only read two or three blogs a day but, it feels better organised, with less overlap between unread messages.

So, if you read my blog and you know that I’m also following you but, you don’t see me hitting that ‘Like’ button or leaving a comment then, I hope you can now understand why. I am still reading, it’s just my new form of organisation 🙂

This is only my method for keeping on top of things. Other people like the reader, which is equally fine.

2 comments on “On Keeping Up

  1. Thanks for the tips! I’ll try the e-mail thing more than I’ve been doing.

  2. I know what you mean! It is hard to keep up with everybody and it needs some form of organisation. I also dont mind reading a weeks worth of someones blogs at a time. Kat 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

