‘Just Breathe’

I’ve been quite negative with my recent posts and I’ve also written letters to two of my favourite bands and artists. Now though, I’d like to try and lighten the mood a a bit and share with you a song from another of my favourites, Pearl Jam.

I only bought my first album six-years ago but they immediately wrestled Incubus for that elusive top-spot in my mind. Much of their earlier work can be associated with ‘grunge’ but, that’s not to say that anything from the last decade is lacking. It’s different and, above all others right now, this song is one of the most heart-felt (in my opinion anyway).

I’d even go as far as to call this an ‘Eddie Vedder solo’, rather than a complete band effort. If you’re not aware, he is also a solo artist and, yes, I’m a fan of his own work, even though I’m still yet to buy his second album… I first heard this song live on the Tonight with Jay Leno Show (yes, in the UK, we can get CNBC through Freesat). Actually, it might have been Jimmy Fallon, which I don’t regularly watch… Either way, it was covered by another band (I forget!) and their rendition of this 2009 track just opened it up for me.

Enjoy and just breathe. 🙂

PS. I’ve just checked and it was Willie Nelson who covered this song that night – you know, the guy with the long, ginger braided hair; most famous for his appearance in The Simpsons… (Well, that’s how I knew of him, anyway!! :-P)

One comment on “‘Just Breathe’

  1. bpshielsy says:

    I haven’t heard this before. I like it.

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

