Day 18 – Your Views on Gay Marriage

I’ve been neglecting this challenge a little bit lately because I seem to have now come up against a short series of challenges that I’m finding hard to respond to. It’s as if I don’t have any opinion of them or any relevant experience to relate to. But, I’m going to press on and attempt to to respond to one right now…

Day 18 – My Views on Gay Marriage

To be honest, I don’t really feel as though I have much of a view on this, whether we’re talking about gay men or lesbian women.

Marriage, to me, represents a life-long commitment between two people to one another. Some view it as the ‘ultimate’ achievement and ambition for a couple but, I don’t think that the hard work and drive should suddenly stop there.

I’m not religious in any way but, if two people love each other and want to share that commitment then, where does gender come in to it? Let them be. We’re not talking about a man marrying a dog, here! People should be allowed to live their lives. There is a religious aspect to it but, I believe that most people judge this sort of action simply because of the society we live in and the condescending influence that the media has on our everyday lives.

I should perhaps add that I am not gay, not religious, I’ve never been married and, before clicking the ‘Publishing‘ button, I realised that I was about to publish a post concerning my views on “Gary Marriage“!! I’m not suggesting that I would get in early to steal a seat on the front row or anything – these are just my views. 🙂

2 comments on “Day 18 – Your Views on Gay Marriage

  1. […] I’ve been neglecting this challenge a little bit lately because I seem to have now come up against a short series of challenges that I’m finding hard to respond to. It’s as if I d…  […]

    • It is a difficult one if you are young, I am not, and have no problem with gay marriage. I’m probably just an old hippy type, but think love – gay or straight can only be good.

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

