Day 27 – What’s the Best Thing Going for You Right Now?

It’s late. Very late. Midnight has passed and, already, Sunday is here. I should be heading to bed for my last lie-in before another five-days of early starts but, I’m sat here, trying to make amends for the ‘weakness’ I’ve shown in my previous post.

Day 27 – The Best Thing Going for Me Right Now

Leading on from my last post, I’d like to say that it’s the fact that I’m a ‘genuine’ guy, whatever that means, hahaha…

Actually, I can think of several things…

First, would have to be all the walking and outdoor exploration I’m doing at the weekends. It’s something I’d been putting off for several months, rather than years. But, I am so glad to be able to do it, as much as I often dread having to face these things alone; I do enjoy getting myself out there and also, having something (photos) to bring back with me. I think this is my number one, right now.

Second, would have to be the writing course I’m doing once a week. Again, it’s getting myself out there and beginning to interact with others and sharing. Writing, however, is a skill I’ve had for a number of years. I feel it’s taking a lot more to get me outside and walking in the great unknown.

A third option would have to be counselling and that, for the last two-months or so, I’e been able to confront some of the fears that’ve held me back for far too long. There’s still a long way to go but, I’ve made a very good start.

Those are three things high on my mind right now and, yes, writing this has also helped me to feel better after recent events. 🙂

My only question now is… Does this count as Sunday’s post or Saturday’s?!? 😉

7 comments on “Day 27 – What’s the Best Thing Going for You Right Now?

  1. Hi, very nice post. It’s great to see that you’re recognising those things, and enjoying the walking taking photos, and writing. Best wishes

  2. […] It’s late. Very late. Midnight has passed and, already, Sunday is here. I should be heading to bed for my last lie-in before another five-days of early starts but, I’m sat here, trying …  […]

  3. Call it Saturdays’ that way we get more from you. I like reading your blogs 🙂

  4. Linda says:

    Great post, and those are definitely strong points. I’m curious about the writing course, as we live in the same city, would you mind sharing which one you are doing? Is it fiction/non-fiction?

    Going out exploring on your own is a brave thing to do, and good for you too. I want to do more of it, maybe on Saturdays (Sunday is rest day mostly). Can you recommend anywhere in particular round this area? I saw your photos from Brean Down and they were awesome. 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment, Linda. 🙂

      It’s at the Folk House, which is accessible from Park Street but accessible from an area near the O2 Academy. This does mean it’s quite well ‘hidden’ and so, I don’t think you get much ‘riff raff’ in the cafe they have there. It certainly looks nice enough and they host lots of live music events and entertainment throughout the year, as well as running courses on evenings, days and weekends.

      It is a fiction writing course and, as it’s only twelve-weeks in length, it’s quite intensive (ie. no time for social chit chat in the classroom). We’re encouraged to share our homework each week openly, in front of the class. It’s daunting but, as it’s an adult class, people are very open minded, which helps. 🙂

      One of my favourites in the city is Blaise Castle, which is actually where I was again this afternoon. It might be worth going next Sunday 21st, as the castle is due to be open for the afternoon… Saying that, I might even head over there again myself! 🙂

      Ashton Court’s amazing, if you’ve never been. It costs £1 now to park there but, you get to explore the estate and walk through the red deer park! There’s an exhibition running there between the 20th and 28th that I’ll be attending (again, it’s free to attend). Have a look at my Flickr photos for some other ideas. Most of the places I’ve been to are closer to Somerset, as I live south of Bristol but, I know there are other sites further north that I’d like to see.

      Feel free to DM or e-mail me if you want to know any more. 🙂

      • Linda says:

        ah cool. I did an interior design workshop for a day at the Folk House. Great fun. I don’t see myself as much of a fiction writer, I want to get better at non-fiction and develop my style in that first.

        I’ve been to Blaise Castle once, but wouldn’t mind checking it out again. I was at Ashton Court today! such a beautiful day for it, cloudless sky and warm in the sunshine. We had a good walk around it, was lovely!

        It’s great that you’re exploring everywhere. have you been here long?

      • I’m impressed that you were able to do even a day workshop at the Folk House. I must admit, it took me a few months to even work up the courage to sending in my enrolment form, knowing that I’d have to park a bit further away and pay for parking – all stuff that I wasn’t used to when I went to the City of Bristol College previously, on Ashley Down Road.

        Glad you made it to Ashton Court, too. There’s another blogger in Bristol who was there not long ago – check out Hayley Emma’s blog. 🙂

        A guy at work was telling me about a nice woodland area. I think it was in Fishponds (it sounds surreal) but, I need to research that.

        I’ve lived where I do for all of my life. I’m about ten-miles south of the centre, approximately halfway between there and Weston. Very close to countryside, which is nice, even though I do miss out on things socially, I’m sure. I know you were in London before and I think work bought you here?

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

