Fortnight of Fortune

It looks as though I now have an extra two-weeks to complete the homework we were assigned last Thursday evening. I found an e-mail from the course tutor earlier to say that he’s had to cancel tomorrow’s class due to personal/family reasons. We should be able to ‘account for’ this lost day by adding it on to the end of term in December but, with half-term next week as well, we’re now left with a whole fortnight between classes.

We were set the task of writing a ‘scene of dialogue’ between two people and, during the conversation or scene, there has to be a point of conflict. An example we were given came from No Country for Old Men (I’ve not even seen the film),where one character enters a petrol/gas station and confronts the clerk/assistant behind the counter.

My first idea, even six-days ago, sat in the class that evening, was to write about someone who arrives at one of these National Trust-type outdoor places and is confronted by someone demanding they pay a car parking fee. The premise here is that the main character (protagonist?) has been coming to this site for several years but this is the first time since parking fees were introduced. It comes as a surprise to him (or her) as the signage and forewarnings apparently aren’t’ or were not clear enough.

You see, I can ‘visualise’ the scene (beginning, middle and end) clearly enough. I even know where the conflict is likely to come in, along with its subject. But, creating a conversation is a whole new challenge altogether and I’m stumped.

I do welcome this extended break as it gives me time to try something. Until I read that e-mail, I was prepared to walk in tomorrow evening and confess that I had found it difficult and, therefore, not written or completed anything.

If I can get that done or, perhaps if I just fancy a break, I’ll try the ‘optional’ homework, which was to write a list-style description of each person you pass in a single day. Yes, that does sound quite fun and thought-provoking! It could be a good way to distinguish how two people really are not perfectly alike 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

