The Placebo Effect

It’s so late on a Friday night that it’s almost Saturday but, I wanted to ask whether anyone else in the UK saw the Derren Brown‘s show on Channel 4?

Last week was the second part in his ‘Apocalypse’ experiment. I forget the title of tonight’s show but, it was all about the placebo effect taking a brand new pill apparently created to relieve a sufferer of their fear.

Okay, so, the truth is a little different – these pills don’t do anything; it’s all allowing yourself to rise up above your fears. But, if you haven’t seen it, I would highly recommend watching. If you don’t catch it on E4, C4, More4 or 4Seven very soon then, you should be able to watch it online some (4OD – On Demand although, I’ve never used it).

I don’t really have much else to say and I certainly don’t wish to spoil the episode for anyone who might intend to watch it. Although, I did feel I could relate to Nick who suffered from social anxiety but, perhaps more so, the woman, Katie, who talked about a fear of being able to sing even in her own home because someone might hear her… Watch it!. 🙂

8 comments on “The Placebo Effect

  1. Bourbon says:

    Thanks! I will! X

  2. […] It’s so late on a Friday night that it’s almost Saturday but, I wanted to ask whether anyone else in the UK saw the Derren Brown‘s show on Channel 4? Last week was the second part…  […]

  3. WeeGee says:

    Thanks Brandon – I’ve been looking for something to save me from Saturday night TV! x

  4. For those who have seen this episode…

    I can see how the smokers would’ve been able to quit but, I don’t get what has ended the other man’s suffering with dermatitis. I mean, that’s not a psychological issue, surely?

    • Bourbon says:

      I finally got round to watching it last night. I think dermatitis CAN be psychological in that it can be caused by stress so I guess with enough belief you will cure yourself? I don’t know, perhaps I should try as I have stress induced excema that drives me mad. I think someone should give me a blue pill!

      I can’t believe that guy who STOOD on the edge of that bridge. I couldn’t even watch it I was feeling so woozy. How he got himself doing that I will never know!

      And I could also relate a LOT to what the social anxiety man was going through. I was so impressed to see him intervene. Wow that takes guts!

      • Glad to hear you got around to watching it, Jen. 🙂

        I know! I’d run away from any violent situation like that but, I think seeing his friends in danger; hearing their cries for help, made the biggest difference. He didn’t seem to react with any surprise to see Derren outside the pub. Maybe he was still trying to take it all in?

        Yeah, the other guy looked so calm… ‘This would be a good place to sit… Maybe now I’ll stand up!’ 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

