Poem: ‘Courage’

Here’s something I started last night and have worked on (I wouldn’t like to say finished) a bit more this evening, along with a few others I aim to share in time. It’s a bit ‘sketchy’ in places as I’ve stopped and started in places and have even jumped back in to rearrange and insert before pre-written verses. You could say it’s my most-heavily-edited poem so far! ๐Ÿ˜€

In a moment of fear
You ran to hide
But the help of a friend
You knew you must find

Clocks ticking
Seconds slowly pass
Red mist ascends
From the crash of shattered glass

Hiding alone
Yet, so far from home
Friends are awaiting
You must pick up the phone

Opportunity arrives
With your chance to depart
No room for hesitation
Your better life must start

BEst-Friend

BEst-Friend (Photo credit: Untitled blue)

 

15 comments on “Poem: ‘Courage’

  1. carolburbank says:

    Good advice — the help of a friend you must find! Always, in dark times, friends bring us light, the better life!

  2. I like it. Good imagery.

  3. Poignant and touching. Well done.

  4. […] Here’s something I started last night and have worked on (I wouldn’t like to say finished) a bit more this evening, along with a few others I aim to share in time. It’s a bit &#82…  […]

  5. The Savvy Senorita says:

    Really feeling the emotion. I am happy you finished it and posted it, so worth the wait!
    Hugs, Bex ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Bex.

      Hey, I even did one better and decided to read it out in class this evening! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      *Hugs back*

      • The Savvy Senorita says:

        Cool, I happy you did this ๐Ÿ™‚ I have read your email too, which I need to reply to. Now, you have to keep going and do more!!!!!

        Big hugs!!!
        Bex

  6. hastywords says:

    Beautifully sad.

  7. […] Poem: ‘Courage’ (brandonbored.wordpress.com) […]

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

