A Sleightly Better Day

Today was a better one for walking. It did rain overnight but, the frost had sent in to ensure that the ground wasn’t too soft when I arrived in Draycott. I did drive up and down the village once, hoping to park near the church that I’d also spotted on Google Streetview but, wouldn’t you know it, that road was closed off! Access was still permissible but, being a Sunday and all, I didn’t want to risk causing an obstruction of any kind. So, I parked back up by the school I think I mentioned yesterday. There are no gates on the premises and, as it turned out, the car park was busy as there was another church right next door.

Draycott Sleights

Draycott Sleights

It started off with an expected uphill climb, past nearby Batcombe Farm. The path wasn’t as clearly designed as I have found elsewhere but, I made my way to each of the gates and stiles. Not without having to confront a flock(?) of geese, standing in my way. As soon as they saw me they started making a lot of noise (whatever sound it is that geese make…). It moved towards, making a racket but then stopped, to open its feathers like a peacock. Actually, I was a bit frightened when it charged at me but, they didn’t bother me after that. 🙂

Geese

Geese

Wherever I go around the Mendips and Somerset, it seems as though Brent Knoll Hill is unmissable. It’s almost haunting, behind the screen of mist. This was looking back down from my first ascent.

Brent Knoll Hill

Brent Knoll Hill

Batcombe Hollow was perhaps the most memorable part of this three-mile walk. Just look at it! With the contours up the hills either side. I can only imagine how bad the flooding might have been a week earlier.

Batcombe Hollow

Batcombe Hollow

There’s another hill, below, that I’ve yet to identify. I remember seeing this when I was sat on top of Cheddar Gorge a few months ago. I’ve no idea how accessible it is to the public but, with all those trees on top, I hope I can see it some time (it’s still gulfed by the sheer size of Brent Knoll, though!).

Unknown Hill?

Unknown Hill?

These are the kind of images you seen, when you Google Draycott Sleights:

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8486/8237606295_01c45558a6.jpg

It’s actually defined within a nature reserve, which I think means you’re not allowed to go up and climb there… I could be wrong. Footpaths lead me elsewhere but, there were two kissing gates I saw without signs warning people to ‘Keep Out’. This is a place I should try to revisit at other times of the year as I didn’t see much in the way of wildlife.

Glastonbury Tor was visible today.

Flooding across the Somerset Levels.

Flooding across the Somerset Levels.

With great views across Somerset and its Levels, you can clearly see how people are still reeling in the aftermath of torrential flooding, almost one week since the downpour headed north.

Beyond Cheddar Reservoir, you can just make out Crook Peak, where I also went a few months back (that remains one of my favourite walks in this area). It was also (kind of) where I headed after lunch today but, I might share that in a separate post to follow this.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8488/8238678064_37b9510b4d.jpg

On my way back down towards the centre of the village, I had to stop and stare at these two animals for a good while. I don’t know why. It might be the colour but, I honestly could not decide whether this one was a sheep or a calf!! 😳

I’ve been quite ruthless in my final selection process of photos so, I currently only have 31 to share with you, which you can view by clicking here. I did get a bit lost before the halfway point…

After climbing north through Batcombe Hollow, I went too far in search of the West Mendip Bridleway. Had I read my map more closely and taken notice of the illustrated boundary line for the field I was leaving then, I’d have noticed that my intended right-turn was actually further down. I probably lost the best part of an hour going up and down that bridleway, dodging puddles and running around fields where I was quite certain I was trespassing but, I didn’t give up and turn back; I found my way around. 🙂

Next and, maybe tomorrow evening, I’ll share with you my return trip to King’s Wood in Winscombe.

4 comments on “A Sleightly Better Day

  1. […] American Psychiatric Association Approves DSM-5Mental Illness Affects 1 in 5 U.S. Adults, Survey Finds – Zeusitup.comA Sleightly Better Day […]

  2. Hi, some nice photos as always! All the best

  3. […] Today was a better one for walking. It did rain overnight but, the frost had sent in to ensure that the ground wasn’t too soft when I arrived in Draycott. I did drive up and down the village …  […]

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

