After Lunch

After climbing and crossing the hills of Draycott in the morning, I headed north-west(-ish) to the village of Winscombe in North Somerset. I did briefly pass through King’s Wood a few months ago, on my way up to Crook Peak. This prevented me with another car parking nightmare, as the space provided (free of charge) by The National Trust was packed upon my arrival! I guess everyone else had the same kind of idea, on a day where rain wasn’t due to fall until, erm, just before I returned to my van at the end of the walk!

King's Wood - Winscombe

King’s Wood – Winscombe

This walk took me south, down the hill and through the woods to a road that leads you past Wavering Down (from the A38), which I also passed a little earlier this year. Again, the overnight frost and dry day allowed the muddy paths to remain passable without any difficulty. I still had my gaiters on but, for this part of the walk, they weren’t essential.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8210/8237585675_f411e37301.jpg

There was evidence hear of the effects the recent high winds on this area, with several small trees now lying on the ground.

The Wind Effect

The Wind Effect

With the way other trees ark over the footpath and bridleway, it’s clearly evident that this is a highly breeze-bitten hill, often on the receiving end of those strong, easterly winds you often hear about on the local weather.

https://i1.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8350/8238655002_803b6bd75c.jpg

Heading down the hill, I followed my guided route (carefully) across the A38 and briefly towards Axbridge. Here, I became witness to clearer sights of the devastating effects of the recent flooding that continues to devastate parts of Somerset.

Somerset Floods

Somerset Floods

In case you were wondering, yes, that is, once again, Brent Knoll Hill in the background!! 😉

From here, the walk continued back up hill (it’s only 2½ miles in total), again, running parallel to the A38. It was a bit flat, to be honest and, until I reached the Strawberry Line (a popular local cycle path between Yatton and Cheddar), there wasn’t much to see beyond tarmac. Although, I did get an almost-clear view of Glastonbury Tor (one day, I’ll go there… Maybe soon).

Further up the line I, came to this finely-crafted wooden sign directing pedestrians back to the King’s Wood car park:

“King’s Wood Car Park – Pedestrians Only”

I can tell you that the post is most probably made from oak but, you don’t need me to say that it’s a lot nicer than many similar sign posts you see out in the wild. I was keen for a closer inspection…

https://i0.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8057/8238658964_e8b64c024f.jpg

Until, I saw the other side and my heart sank a little (I know a bit about wood). Breakout around the drilled holes and it appears as though someone’s tried to force two dowels in to the space for one (perhaps disguising a mis-placed hole). It’s a bit of a shame but then, I tend to notice things like this.

Shute Shelve Tunnel

Shute Shelve Tunnel

https://i0.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8486/8238659860_59205121e4.jpg

Walking through the tunnel.

Just beyond this is an exciting tunnel that leads beneath a road where I had parked, opposite the car park.

Tunnel of... Distortion!

Tunnel of… Distortion!

Stepping in to this darkness is memorable, where your path is lit only by the cat’s eyes running down the centre (ignoring daylight, of course). The image above is far from perfect but, with the way it came out, it remains one of my favourites from the day.

Footpath Closed

Footpath Closed

After this, I was supposed to take a left turn through a gate, following a footpath that would take me through a meadow and back to my vehicle. But, as you can see above, signs were in place to say that the permissible footpath was currently closed. I did search around for another route but, I ended up back-tracking to the wooden sign I showed you earlier (a return trip through the tunnel) and back in to the woods.

Before leaving (just as it started raining), I did jump the gate to take a couple of photos from inside the reserve – if you’d like to see those and, the rest of the photos I took on this day then, please take a look at my Flickr album.

7 comments on “After Lunch

  1. […] Depression: A Treatable IllnessDepression And Education : How do the symptoms of depression affect my child’s ability to learnPsychiatry Gets Revised Diagnostic Manual – Health News and Views – Health.comAfter Lunch […]

  2. Hi, I do really enjoy reading your walks and seeing the photos.

  3. […] After climbing and crossing the hills of Draycott in the morning, I headed north-west(-ish) to the village of Winscombe in North Somerset. I did briefly pass through King’s Wood a few months …  […]

  4. veva525 says:

    I’m incredibly jealous of all the beautiful scenery you take strolls in. I would love to immerse myself in all that glorious beauty for a day! You’re very lucky. Awesome pictures, too!

    • Thank you. 🙂

      Are there any good places for walking near to where you are?

      • veva525 says:

        I’m in the Midwest of the US. There are trails, but it’s a lot of cornfields and prairie land. No pretty rolling hills or rushing waters. We do have a botanic garden, though, and I love going there 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

