‘Alone’ – Heart

Another day and a second song for you this week. This one also aired on Radio 2 yesterday but, I was reluctant to ‘spoil’ you all by posting twice in one day…

If I did that then, what reason would you have to be reading this right now?! 😉

So, I’ve now heard this song twice on Radio 2 in the last few months, that I can remember. I hear it more frequently on Planet Rock but, we do not have a DAB radio at work (nor, the intention to change the fecking FM station, or so it seems).

I guess I like my ballads, as much as I am an avid rocker. I always thought that Pat Benatar was the vocalist on this song and within the band but, Wikipedia has taught me otherwise (she also has a great voice).

What else can I say, except that I pay close attention to this song for the warbling cry right after the two-minute mark. It gives me goosebumps, every time. 🙂

I forgot to include the lyrics with the previous song and I’ll amend that shortly. For the lyrics to this song, you’ll have to read on below.

I hear the ticking of the clock
I’m lying here the room’s pitch dark
I wonder where you are tonight
No answer on the telephone
And the night goes by so very slow
Oh I hope that it won’t end though
Alone

Till now I always got by on my own
I never really cared until I met you
And now it chills me to the bone
How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone

You don’t know how long I have wanted
To touch your lips and hold you tight, oh
You don’t know how long I have waited
And I was gonna tell you tonight
But the secret is still my own
And my love for you is still unknown
Alone

Till now I always got by on my own
I never really cared until I met you
And now it chills me to the bone
How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone

How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone

Alone, alone

 

6 comments on “‘Alone’ – Heart

  1. mintedmoose says:

    I think this was number one when i was born, i love singing it on singstar xXx

    • Wow, that’s interesting and rather cool! I’ve no idea what was No.1 one when I walked in to this world…

      You must have courage if you’re able to sing on those games!! 😉

  2. good song – I love Heart… especially their early stuff (earlier than this song/album)… They are classed as being from Washington state but they apparently have ties with Vancouver British Columbia Canada (my home province)… 🙂

  3. rainey says:

    Heart…two sisters who rocked the world of rock n roll; I love them! Pat Benatar sings one I love that many people don’t know; “Hell is for Children”. If you haven’t heard it, you should. PS I LOVE Incubus….your blog name got my attention! 🙂

    • Thank you, I’ll definitely check it out! 🙂

      Glad you also love Incubus (I can never meet fans in the real world but there are loads here) and also that the name works. 😉

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

