‘Different Devil’ – Chickenfoot

Another song for you today. 🙂

This isn’t one I’ve actually heard on the radio for some time. We’re talking months, if not close to one year already. I’ve only just listened to it for the first time since as I found this video on YouTube.

Flashback a year ago and it was a song that was feature regularly on Planet Rock. To be more specific, I’d hear almost every time I made the one-hour drive up to Gloucester and then back again, back when I was seeing ‘Jan’.

(I hope you enjoy this live recording. You’re missing much from the studio version, unless you’re obsessed with Joe Satriani, perhaps.)

You’ll find the complete lyrics for this song further down but, as I entered the ‘friendship/relationship’ with a head full of doubt, there were two lines I’d hear that always stuck in my mind. Especially during the long and emotional drive home. The fact that we briefly became ‘an item’ (for all of six-days before falling out) didn’t affect this.

Walk away!
If you think there’s someone better
Run away!
Into the arms of something new

I’m not wishing to compare anyone to the devil but, as I said; I always had my doubts. I never even viewed it as a long-term relationship (which is what I desired), if I’m honest.

I don’t relate this song to recent events; it’s more that these developments I haven’t spoken of publicly have caused me to reflect on the situation I was in almost a year ago.

But it don’t mean nothin’ ‘less it’s got something for me and you

…Maybe I can relate to that one right now. It’s just ‘funny’ how one song can speak to you at the right time. I’m struggling hard to think or any lines or lyrics that have called out to me within the last eight-months though (except possibly ‘Adrenaline’, ‘Unity’ and ‘Second Chance’… All song titles).

There’s a wise old tale
About the same old hell
Only the devil is changed
With two brand new lovers
Rolling in the covers
Everybody wants some strange

We all know somebody gonna tell you just what to do
But it don’t mean nothin’ ‘less it’s got something for me and you

Walk away!
If you think there’s someone better
Run away!
To the arms of something new
You can stay!
If you think he’ll treat you better than I do
Turn around babe
I’ll be right there waiting for you

Hey we’re both getting older
We should know better
Some things stay the same
You want your freedom
And I’m so jealous
No one’s gonna change

We all know somebody gonna tell what’s right to do
Hey, I’m sitting here listen, baby, I’m missing you

Walk away!
If you think there’s someone better
Run away!
To the arms of something new
You can stay!
If you think he’ll treat you better than I do
Turn around babe
I’ll be right here waiting for you

There’s a sweet dark angel
On my shoulder
Singing in my ear
From the bad side of heaven
With all her glory
Salvation’s here.

We all know somebody’s gonna tell you just what to do
But it don’t mean nothin’ ‘less it means something for me and you, babe

Walk away!
If you think there’s someone better
Run away!
Into the arms of something new
You can stay!
If you think he’ll treat you better than I do
Turn around babe
I’ll be right here waiting for you

I’m right here waiting for you
Come on
Turn around babe
I’m right here waiting for you
Oh, yeah
Come on, girl
I’m right here waiting for you
Turn around girl

 

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

