T’ai Chi, Anyone?

Talking to someone earlier, she told me how she has used martial arts in the past to build on her confidence. I know from my brief experience in counselling that meditation can work well for me and, as a kid, I always wanted to learn karate; I never had the confidence to even admit to it; fearing that I wouldn’t good enough.

Now, I’m an adult; moving ever closer to the big 3-0. I’m growing within myself and, as the persistent grey clouds Christmas begin to clear, I’m looking forward with more optimism for myself. I have an appointment with my doctor on Monday, where I’ll again raise my issues with depression and will enquire about the availability of CBT among other things.

(Photo credit: Londontaichi.org.uk)

As you might have already guessed, I’m also thinking about the possibility of learning some form of martial art this year.

Have you ever tried T’ai Chi?

I’m not looking to ‘kick a**e‘ as such or even to become the next Daniel LaRusso (I don’t fancy bit-part appearances in a new series of Ugly Betty, twenty-years from now…). This could be a way of finding peace and confidence within myself. It could help with my anxieties around people, if I’m able to learn and complete these exercises amongst a group initially.

(Photo credit: blogs.Mirror.co.uk)

It could even be quite social. A quick search online has revealed at least one major group in the Bristol area. From the photos, it does seem as though they’re mostly over-50s (just like being at work) but, I think it’s unrealistic of me to expect to find a group for people in their 20s and 30s. There might be a similar course available at the Folk House, where I was doing my writing but, I’ve missed the start of the spring term already.

This is certainly something to think about and look in to when I feel ready. I’m aware that yoga is quite popular these days and I know one other blogger who benefits from this form of exercise.

Tai Chi master Jianmen from Shenmue II (Image credit: YouTube)

I think most kids (boys, especially) want to learn how to kick and karate chop a length of wood in two. As I’ve grown older though, I found that my own interest in the martial arts grew (to some extent) from playing a computer game, known as Shenmue; the unfinished saga that has touched so many, leaving us pining for a conclusion more than ten-years after the previous instalment.

Iron Palm move – Tai Chi – Shenmue II (Image credit: Tumblr)

This game was unlike any other that I played. It was an adventure in its own right; a unique experience of its own creation. There is a strong oriental, martial arts theme running throughout the story but, it’s about much more than beating other people up – there are too many other games that offer this and nothing more. I don’t expect to be able to shed all the leaves from a cherry blossom tree with one movement but, I feel I would like to learn T’ai Chi sometime (see, I’ve already learnt that it’s spelled with an apostrophe!).

If you’ve had any of your own experiences of this or any other art then, I’d love to hear from you. πŸ™‚

 

13 comments on “T’ai Chi, Anyone?

  1. Great idea… πŸ˜‰

  2. awesome idea..!! You should definitely try it!! T’ai Chi is cool!! i hv read research that it helps in reducing OA pain…and has a numerous other benefits too πŸ™‚

  3. Hi, good luck with it!

  4. We should try everything that give us a chance for a better life. This is the life about. The first step is the most difficult. Go for it!

  5. Natalya says:

    I’ve looked into taking a class where I am but it’s too expensive for me right now. It wouldn’t be too bad if I were employed perhaps but right now I can’t afford it 😦 I do want to try it though. There’s a group that uses a lovely green space in the downtown area for their practice. It’s relaxing to watch them when they’re good at it.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Natalya.

      Sorry to hear that you’re still struggling without a job at the minute but, I know from your blog that you’re still grateful for the support of your father.

      Your blog is full of good ideas and snippets for us all to try and even consider in our minds. I’m sure you’ll have plenty to go on when you are ‘up and running’ again.

      Of the groups I’ve seen, most seem to practice within a large room or gymnasium, with only occasional ventures out in to open spaces (it sounds like your area is fortunate, in that respect).

      • Natalya says:

        Thanks, the T’ai Chi groups usually go out in the summer or when it’s nice outside. It’s not everywhere but in the downtown area there are lots of nice green spaces for practicing. I live outside the city where there are fewer nice spaces for practice so I believe most groups meet in gyms and similar places. That sounds funny when I read it. My nearest city has better green spaces than my ‘town’ has. Oy! Another reason I dislike where I’m living πŸ˜›

  6. This is a great idea! I don’t have any experience with martial arts myself, but let us know how it goes if you do take it up! I am thinking of trying meditation, I have heard that it can be really useful, so thanks for reminding me πŸ™‚ xx

    • Thanks, Ellie. πŸ™‚

      What sort of meditation are you thinking of trying?

      I’m looking for a new one (un-associated with my previous counsellor) and have noticed many that are available for sale on Amazon. x

      • I don’t know… I haven’t really looked into it yet, but I feel that it’s worth a try! What type are you thinking of going for? xx

      • I’m just looking for something that will help me to cope with feelings and thoughts of anxiety. It used to work for me, when I did it every day and, it only took three weeks or less to kick in. But then, I broke my routine, stopped altogether and fell downhill dramatically…

        I’d like to have something that doesn’t have my counsellor’s voice and no relevance to anyone I know personally (that’s why I stopped).

        Amazon has some that you can download quite cheaply. I did buy some new books and CDs last night so, I may spend some more tonight! πŸ˜‰

      • Let me know how it goes! I think I’ll look into it too! xx

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

