‘Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)’ – Journey

Having just sat here and watched this video for the first time, I still can’t decide whether I should laugh or turn away until the music stops! I only really looked in to it because of something I heard Alice Cooper say on the radio the other night – something to do with Steve Perry wearing a vest… I think Alice liked the video but, I still sensed an air of sarcasm in his voice.

This song came on the radio quite late on Saturday night, as I was off on one of my head-clearing drives in to the darkness. They usually take me a good hour; anywhere between Bristol and Weston-super-Mare, sticking mostly to the A-roads for speed and fuel consumption. This time, I headed south and, there is a bit of a reason for that.

I may well have to face the reality of ‘letting go’ of someone I care about, very soon. She closed the door almost two weeks ago. I knocked once, to which she didn’t answer and, I’m afraid of ringing the bell again too soon. I fear being blamed for something I still do not understand. I’m not ready to give up but, I may have to accept that there are some things in life that go against our own judgement and views.

So, here is the song. It’s actually been one of my favourite Journey songs since I first heard it in 2009. If you have to, ignore the video and focus on the music! It’s not like any of their most ‘mainstream’ hits, I promise you. I think it’s actually a shortened version…? I thought about finding a live version instead but, even I can’t be bothered to sit through several listenings of this song. 😛

For the lyrics (for which I decided to make this post), please read on below.

‘Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)’

Here we stand
Worlds apart, hearts broken in two (two, two)
Sleepless nights
Losing ground
I’m reaching for you (you, you)

Feelin’ that it’s gone
Can change your mind
If we can’t go on
To survive the tide love divides

Someday love will find you
Break those chains that bind you
One night will remind you
How we touched
And went our separate ways
If he ever hurts you
True love won’t desert you
You know I still love you
Though we touched
And went our separate ways

Troubled times
Caught between confusion and pain (pain, pain)
Distant eyes
Promises we make were in vain (in vain, vain)

If you must go, I wish you love
You’ll never walk alone
Take care my love
Miss you love

Someday love will find you
Break those chains that bind you
One night will remind you
How we touched
And went our separate ways
If he ever hurts you
True love won’t desert you
You know I still love you
Though we touched
And went our separate ways

Someday love will find you
Break those chains that bind you
One night will remind you
If he ever hurts you
True love won’t desert you
You know I still love you

I still love you girl
I really love you girl
And if he ever hurts you
True love won’t desert you
No – No –

 

5 comments on “‘Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)’ – Journey

  1. Chelle says:

    Wow! Watching this video now compared to my younger days. :O One does become morbidly fascinated and unable to turn away.
    Letting go isn’t always easy, is it?

    • Hi Chelle, thanks for your comment.

      There were some developments last night that have made the process easier, for the fact that I no longer need to ‘let go’ completely… We can remain as friends, which is certainly all I need right now. 🙂

      I suffered a totally separate loss today though within the family and may need to find a way to grieve for that some time.

  2. The Savvy Senorita says:

    Hey you, great post I enjoyed reading it! Maybe you should try one one ‘ring’ just to know for sure. That confirmation could help you ‘sever’ the ties. Don’t see it as an end, but a beginning. You can get through this, I know you can!
    Big hugs, Bex 🙂

    • Hey Bex,

      Did I e-mail you last night? Things have happened that will make ‘getting through this’ a lot easier. I don’t have to say goodbye. 🙂

      • The Savvy Senorita says:

        Yes, I have now read it! What you mentioned was exactly what I hoped for! I think I must be psychic!
        I am happy for you!!!!!!!! 🙂

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

