New CDs

Last week, I shared with you the two books I recently bought from Amazon. I was still waiting the arrival of two CDs to complete my latest trilogy and, after a possible delay with the recent weather, they arrived yesterday.

Two recent albums from John Frusciante and Lana Del Ray's debut, which is now a year old.

Two recent albums from John Frusciante and Lana Del Ray’s debut, which is now a year old.

To start off, there are two recent albums from John Frusciante; best know and previously a member of the Red Hot Chili Peppers on two occasions. I’ve shared one of his solo tracks on this blog before but, his own work remains relatively unknown to most. I’m a big fan of his work, even though I haven’t given his previous album (The Empyrean) much of a listen. These are still yet to make their way on to my iPod but the artwork alone reminds me of the albums John was releasing a decade ago (two of my favourites are from that era).

With that, my ‘big secret’ this time is that I’ve been curious about Lana Del Ray’s debut album for the past twelve months! There was one track that struck a chord with me – I can’t be bothered to check for its name now but, it might have been the title track; Born to Die. I look forward to seeing what the rest of the CD is like, as this is a bit different to my usual preference for ‘noise’. 😛 She’s the first female artists (that I can think of) to have really caught my attention since Katie Melua (I also own her first two albums).

Again, this one really needs to go on to my iPod before I listen to it – which then makes me wonder why I bother buying CDs… 😛 I was also surprised that all three discs arrived in the classical ‘jewel’ cases, when I’d assumed that modern CDs were being released in slim, card sleeves now… Yes, it has been a while since I purchased any new music! 😉

Last time I tried to rip some new tunes from my CDs, my laptop (through the power of iTunes) managed to re-produce several CDs in a terrible distorted state that was unbearable, even to my ears. I’ve tried following the advice of many comments found through Google searches but, this still happens, even when I attempt to simple play the CD in a non-Apple program. That does suggest a potential problem with my disc drive but I’m still yet to find a cause (or a cure).

3 comments on “New CDs

  1. I’m afraid Brandon, that although I LOVE John Frusciante, I can’t stand Lana Del Ray. I find her sooo dronnnyyyy. Haha, sorry!

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

