‘Darkness’ – Disturbed

There’s a song that came to my mind about a week ago and I’ve been eager to share it with you ever since. Actually, this one creeps back in to my mind on a frequent basis. I’d be surprised if it hasn’t grazed my conscious mind at least once each week for the past eleven years!

It’s one that I’m almost ‘afraid’ to share. I first heard this song when I bought the band’s album, at the age of 17. I was heading towards a low patch of my own during my A-Levels and I used to worry that this song would make me feel worse; as if I shouldn’t ever allow myself to listen to it. In fact, there’s a song on Staind‘s ‘Break the Cycle‘ album that I would always skip… I’ll share that one on another day.

But, ‘Darkness’ was soothing. I found comfort in David voice, the piano keys that didn’t belong on this album and ‘those three words‘ that I could relate to; over and over again.

I’ve grown away from this band (and a lot of metal, in general) in the years since but, if I was to choose just one track of theirs from the two albums I own, to sit inside a playlist on my iPod… There is no question.

I don’t wish for people to read anything in to the timing of this as I am okay. In fact, I’m planning to write a positive post of gratitude tomorrow evening, in preparation for my CBT assessment on Thursday. 😉 If anything is wrong at this moment, it’s that I can’t seem to stop listening to Lana Del Ray’s album at the minute! I’m also in a bit of a Chili Peppers phase at the minute too (everything pre-2006). 😎

‘Darkness’

Don’t turn away,
I pray you’ve heared the words I’ve spoken.
Dare to believe,
Over one last time;
Then I’ll let the

Darkness cover me,
Deny everything.
Slowly walk away,
To breathe again.

On my own.

Carry me away,
I need your strength to get me through this.
Dare to believe,
Over one last time;
Then I’ll let the

Darkness cover me,
Deny everything.
Slowly walk away,
To breathe again.

On my own. [x5]

Dare to believe,
Over one last time;
Then I’ll let the

Darkness cover me,
Deny everything.
Slowly walk away,
To breathe again.

On my own. [x2]

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

