‘Epiphany’ – Staind

Although I still have a level of admiration towards this band, each time I see the name ‘Staind‘, my head begins to drop even before I’ve heard that first chord of any of their songs. They’re a band almost synonymous with depression at times. That’s how I’ve always remembered them.

I mentioned last time, with my previous video share, that there was one Staind song on the Break the Cycle album that I was afraid to listen to 12 years ago… Well, this is it!

To fully appreciate the contrast of this song against the rest of their CD, I think you’d have to listen to the studio recordings, where I’ve chosen to share a live acoustic set version with you today (as I also did with It’s Been Awhile). It’s not as ‘hard’ as many of the others.

Listening to this song again didn’t feel painful at all. In my teens, I would instantly draw up an image of a barren landscape beneath grey clouds and filled with mist. Quite like I imagine the lower points of the Grand Canyon to be, but with green rocks. It was lonely and I can still see that image in my mind today.

If you’d like to read through the lyrics for yourself, please find them below. Just so you know though; neither this song or any lyrics bear any relevance to my current state of mind. I appreciate that I’m being very quiet at the moment but I ask you to trust that I’m okay. 🙂

‘Epiphany’

Your word’s to me just a whisper

Your face is so unclear

I try to pay attention

Your words just disappear

Chorus

‘Cause it’s always raining in my head

Forget all the things I should have said

So I speak to you in riddles

Cause my words get in my way

I smoke the whole thing to my head

And feel it wash away

‘Cause I can’t take anymore of this

I want to come apart

Or dig myself a little hole

Inside your precious heart

Chorus

I am nothing more than a little boy inside

That cries out for attention

Yet I always try to hide

‘Cause I talk to you like children

Though I don’t know how I feel

But I know I’ll do the right thing

If the right thing is revealed

Chorus

source: http://www.lyricsondemand.com/s/staindlyrics/epiphanylyrics.html

2 comments on “‘Epiphany’ – Staind

  1. It’s been awhile by Staind is one of my favourites… I like this song too… I do not listen to a lot of their stuff though because as you noted they are a bit “hard” not really my usual genre, but I enjoy them unplugged… It all depends on my mood I guess…

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

