‘Starlight’ – Muse

There was a time when the prospect of owning a Muse album excited, back in the early noughties. I’ve seen distanced myself from the band with their more mainstream style. But, there’s one song that seems to play more frequently on Planet Rock than any of their others and it’s certainly one that I’ve grown an attachment to.

Matt Bellamy has a great voice and originally, a style that seemed to surprise a lot of people when the band first ’emerged’. Mostly, it’s for those lines about just wanting to hold someone in my arms.

I was supposed to see my friend again today but, she cancelled it (for personal reasons) only a couple of hours in advance. I won’t bother to try and deny or even question my disappointment. I know our time and that opportunity will come again. In the mean time, I have another friend’s birthday celebration to attend this evening and I must get myself out to do a group walk on Sunday, as there’s one that starts only a few miles from home.

Speaking of which, I’ve been out to view potential place to rent this afternoon! I like it and the meeting with the agent went well. It’s the only available place that I can realistically afford right now (on a monthly basis) but I really need to sit down and look at how feasible that first month would be, with all the relevant fees, a deposit and the advanced payment of rent that would be required… I had a good feeling that it would be a space for me to ‘create’; certainly with my writing and perhaps also with music some day.

Today’s song (its title) also reminds me of internet dating in general, as there was one girl (guess her username!) who I felt was a near-‘perfect’ match for me, based on the shy natured outlined in her profile… She never responded to my message, which I think tells you something about the world of online dating… Perhaps that in spite of appearances and first impressions, it’s no more transparent than finding someone away from the computer screen.

Please read below to find the lyrics for this song.

Starlight

Far away
This ship is taking me far away
Far away from the memories
Of the people who care if I live or die

Starlight
I will be chasing the starlight
Until the end of my life
I don’t know if it’s worth it anymore

Hold you in my arms
I just wanted to hold
You in my arms

My life
You electrify my life
Let’s conspire to ignite
All the souls that would die just to feel alive

But I’ll never let you go
If you promised not to fade away
Never fade away

Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations
Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations

Hold you in my arms
I just wanted to hold
You in my arms

Far away
This ship is taking me far away
Far away from the memories
Of the people who care if I live or die

And I’ll never let you go
If you promise not to fade away
Never fade away

Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations
Our hopes and expectations
Black holes and revelations

Hold you in my arms
I just wanted to hold
You in my arms
I just wanted to hold

2 comments on “‘Starlight’ – Muse

  1. willoiow says:

    I liked muse until Matt Bellamy decided to disappear up his own arse, shame though there first couple of albums were awesome

    • Haha, that’s one way of putting it! But I quite agree. I also enjoyed their first two albums. They’ve not done anything like Muscle Museum or even Plug-In Baby since.

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

