‘Best of You’ – Foo Fighters

As I was heading towards Bristol last night and on towards a gig I’d been invited to earlier in the day, this song came on the radio, not long after I left home. You probably all know it. I mean, it’s been pretty well known for the last… Nine-years?! It’s another one of those songs that seems to appear at just the right time and, listening to it on this occasion, I felt there was a lot that I could relate to currently (I’m okay).

I was never a huge fan of this song and much preferred some of the other tracks from the same album (I think DOA was one). It’s interesting how songs can suddenly reach out to you like that. Reading through the lyrics this morning, I can’t decide who the song is written for or about… It seems almost like the emotions and guilt are being exchanged between two people throughout the verses. But, that could simply be my misinterpretation!

Last night, I was invited to see the Martin Harley Band at The Fleece in Bristol. My friend had a spare ticket and I was intrigued as soon as I heard that they were rock-inspired blues, or vice-versa! An excellent band. I enjoyed the night and the music, if not the experience of having to stand up all night (not like at the Grain Barge, where we’re usually in early enough to pinch a seat). Martin (the front man) is very smartly dressed compared to the others. Leading from the back, they have a proper rock and roll drummer who was entertainment to watch on his own! Their bass player was more ‘timid’ (sitting down) by comparison and they had another guitarist with them for a few songs.

There was a one-man act before them (sorry, I forget his name but he was Irish and had O’something as his surname…) and he was quite the guitar player/string picker/whatever term people use! Standing right in front of the stage didn’t bother me, even though the volume was up so loud that you could barely hear the vocals at times. There were a couple of people bouncing around us and both my friend and I received the odd elbow in the back and torso but I realised a few things last night… To enjoy live music, you don’t ‘have’ to be like those people. You don’t have to appear as though you’re having the time of your life and you certainly don’t need alcohol. I realised that you don’t need to stare at any band member in particular either. Kind of like meditation; I can keep my eyes on the stage, allow my focus to fade and then, just listen to the music more clearly.

Below, are the lyrics to Best of You by the Foo Fighters.

“Best Of You”

I’ve got another confession to make
I’m your fool
Everyone’s got their chains to break
Holdin’ you

Were you born to resist or be abused?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?

Are you gone and onto someone new?
I needed somewhere to hang my head
Without your noose
You gave me something that I didn’t have
But had no use
I was too weak to give in
Too strong to lose
My heart is under arrest again
But I break loose
My head is giving me life or death
But I can’t choose
I swear I’ll never give in
I refuse

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Has someone taken your faith?
Its real, the pain you feel
You trust, you must
Confess
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Oh…

Oh…Oh…Oh…Oh…

Has someone taken your faith?
Its real, the pain you feel
The life, the love you’d die to heal
The hope that starts the broken hearts
You trust, you must
Confess

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?

I’ve got another confession my friend
I’m no fool
I’m getting tired of starting again
Somewhere new

Were you born to resist or be abused?
I swear I’ll never give in
I refuse

Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Has someone taken your faith?
Its real, the pain you feel
You trust, you must
Confess
Is someone getting the best, the best, the best, the best of you?
Oh…

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

