Open Door

Even when I close the door, I never turn the key.

Should I hear a ring or knock, I will always answer. Eventually.

It’s a sound I can’t ignore.

A presence I’m half expecting.

Always waiting for.

Knowing that one day, she will always return.

My mind remains hushed while the body rattles.

I still expect the same end result.

I do this out of kindness.

I do not expect change.

It’s a test of resolve. A chance for redemption.

She has to make an effort. This year will soon draw to a close.

A divide exists. His eyes burn with nicotine in demand.

Those fists, I can’t restrain. But my door is always open.

I won’t lie. I can’t hide. Too many times, I’ve tried.

Please, feel free to share your thoughts.

